Skip to content

Ask Udder Smith: Holiday Blues

December 13, 2010

Dear Udder:

All my ex-pat friends are flying off to their home countries for the holidays, but we can not make it home this year.  I miss my family, and feel lonely and stressed at my in-laws for Sho-gatsu (new years).  Everything is so different.

Moooing blue in Shonan

Dear Shonan:

Holidays can be difficult, particularly for bovines far away from home pastures.  Thich Nhat Hanh, a noted Vietnamese Buddhist monk, wrote a wonderful book, “Peace is Every Step” , and I turn to its comforting pages whenever I feel blue, or if my milk starts to curdle from holiday stress or family shenanigans.

Take a deep breath and mooooooo.

Best,

Udder

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

